The Power of ‘Why?’

I’ve recently discovered that if you truly want to fix a habit, change something about you, improve your state, it’s all about asking the right questions.  Henry David Thoreau said, “There are a thousand hacking at the branches of evil to one who is striking at the root.”  So often I find myself asking, or making statements, to myself; “screw that guy, I’m pissed”, ” I can’t stay awake past 9, I get so tired”, “It’s impossible to stick to a budget”, “Why am I not able to get up and get my early morning workout in?”, etc.  So often it stops there and I don’t ask the right questions and get to the root of why those things are, or are not, happening.

What I’ve found is that when you ask ‘Why?’ 3-4 times in a row, related to the same issue, that it gets closer to the root of the problem and I’m actually able to address the issue.

“Why can’t I get motivated to get my early morning workouts?”

  • Because I feel like I don’t have enough time.
  • Why?
  • Because even when I get up early it seems like time flies and it’s already time to get my Miracle Morning in first.
  • Why?
  • Because I spend the first 30 minutes of the morning trying to figure out what I should do for a workout.
  • Why?
  • Because I don’t have my workout planned.

And there it is.  The root of the issue is that I don’t plan my workouts in advance.  If I had my workouts planned I would know exactly what to do in the mornings and not have to mull over what to do.  So that excuse is eliminated.  If I still can’t workout first thing in the morning I repeat this cycle until all excuses are eliminated.

This works is all aspects of your life, business, and health.  If you’re feeling stuck, frustrated, or stagnated, ask yourself ‘Why?’, ‘Why?’, ‘Why?’, and ‘Why?’

Leave a Reply

