“Does it make you money or make you happy?”

“Does it make you money or does it make you happy?  The great orator Adam Carolla, my guilty podcast pleasure, has always stated this quote on his show and in his first book.  I don’t know if he was the first to coin the term or if it was someone else, but I first heard it from him and it really had an impact on me.  It’s not the perfect thought process that works every time.  There are somethings that you just must do that does neither of those things but I do find that asking yourself this line will help weed out a lot of things and make saying “no” much much easier.  I work in an industry that spends a lot of time on the golf course.  I hate golf, I’m terrible at golf and have zero desire to work at it to become better.  So I’m often asked to go play.  Knowing that it will take hours of my time, hours that I could be working on building my business or spending time with my family or friends, it’s not always an easy decision for me.  Is there going to be someone that will be there that will help me to build my business and, in the end, make me money?  Then, the answer is “yes”.  Is a friend in from out of town that I haven’t seen in a while and wants go to play?  It won’t make me money but it will be fun to spend time with him, so “yes”.  Is it not going to lead to either of those things?  If I ask my self if it’ll bring me money or happiness the decision is an easy “no”.  No sometimes things just need to happen, helping with chores, washing the car, etc that just need to happen.  So it’s not perfect but it really helps.

So if you work for yourself and/or have a family and you’re feeling pulled in different directions, ask yourself this question.  I think you will find many of those decisions will become much easier.

Leave a Reply

