What I learned from The Four Hour Work Week

About 4 years ago is when I first actually sat down and read the book by Tim Ferriss, The 4-Hour Workweek.  At that point in my life I was making doing pretty well in my business and had a little walk around money.  This book was revolutionary for me.  I had never considered the possibility of starting a “muse” business on the side and hadn’t even considered many of the concepts that he brought to my attention in this book.  For me it almost was a source of anxiety, as my wife will attest, because my mind was racing with possible business ideas for my “muse”.  And at work I became so obsessed with working “smarter” not harder that I think my coworkers probably thought I’d all of the sudden turned into an asshole because I was doing all that I could to batch emails, avoid meetings, and trying to hire virtual assistants to do my job for me.  I would say that for the next 6 months I became an anxiety ridden nightmare but was so pumped about it!  Looking back, I liken it to someone that’s been born-again and is super energetic and charged with their newfound religion or take on life.  Not that it was necessarily good or bad, it was just that way, it was the honeymoon stage of a paradigm shift.  An important one that I am glad that I went through.

A few years have passed now since I first read the book.  Although I never started a “muse” yet lost hours of sleep on it and drove my coworkers crazy I still value this book a lot and highly recommend it…with a caveat.  The book is excellent and, if you listen to any interviews with Tim Ferriss regarding the book, he will be the first to tell you that the purpose of the book was never to tell you to work 4 hours a day.  The point of this book addresses the issues of Parkinson’s Law, that work expands so as to fill the time available for its completion.  Why do we magically all require 8 hours a day 5 days a week to do our jobs.  Government jobs require it, corporate jobs demand 10 hours a day, and even business owners typically try to keep to the 8-10 hour work day.  Why?  Not all work/jobs require that amount of work.  This book does a great job of helping you to avoid the unnecessary meetings, email responses, and work that you don’t need to do because it doesn’t make you money or make you happy.  Most of us can finish our work in much less time that what we give ourselves but we make it all work within an 8 hour day.  If those hours just work well for you then I think this book is excellent at teaching you to make the most of those 8 hours and get way more done, if not for the business then for yourself.  It’s not a book teaching you to work less.  It’s a book teaching you to make the most out of your days.  It’s one of the few books that I highly recommend people own the actual copy.  And most importantly…

Be a better human.

Buy online at: Amazon

Leave a Reply

