10 pages per day rule

Read 10 pages per day.  It’s the newest habit I am developing as I read, ironically enough, The Power of Habit, by Charles Duhigg.  Like many, as I’ve gotten older I go through spurts of really getting into a book and reading non-stop until the book ends.  Then, even if I find a new book to read I struggle with maintaining the discipline to finish the book in a pace where I actually get something from it.  So I end up with a scattering of books all over the house that are half read or “I am currently reading” that I haven’t touched in weeks, but I will get around to it.  Reading is one of those things that I know is good for me.  And if it’s good for me, why don’t I do it more often?  When I come across something like this that I know is edifying and I know I will be glad I did it after it’s done, like exercising, eating healthy, or flossing.  These things are just tough to do consistently so it’s important to develop a system or habit that works for you.  Then, you’ll catch yourself doing that thing without even realizing it.  I’m at a point now, with reading, that it is part of my morning routine and I don’t even think about it.

My goal has been to read 10 pages per day.  If I read more than that, then great, but I always read 10 pages at a minimum.  The book I am currently reading is 298 pages.  If I only read 10 per day then I am done with it in 30 days.  If I finished a book a month that would be a great feat for me.  For others, they may read much more than that so I’d up the minimum, but for me it’s an easy, attainable number and I will likely finish the book much sooner than that because there are days I read more pages.

Give it a try and soon reading will become habit.

Leave a Reply

